Donate Button
Follow us...


The Executive Branch of Government

The Constitution defines our national government as being comprised of 3 branches (parts) - each with its own powers to provide checks and balances on the others. These branches are...

o Executive (President)
o Legislative (Congress)
o Judicial (Supreme Court)

The president is responsible for carrying out laws passed by Congress. This is done through various agencies - referred to collectively as the adminitration. The president appoints the head of each organization (Senate approval is required). Virtually everyone else working for these agencies is a career professional who maintains their position from one president's administration to the next.

The president also is responsible for overseeing foreign affairs, and is Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces.

Cabinet and Key Positions

Elected Representatives


Donald Trump

Vice President

Mike Pence


Attorney General

William Barr

Secretary of Agriculture

Sonny Perdue

Secretary of Commerce

Wilbur Ross

Secretary of Defense

Mark Esper

Secretary of Education

Betsy DeVos

Secretary of Energy

Rick Perry

Secretary of Health and Human Services

Alex Azar

Secretary of Homeland Security

Kevin K. McAleenan (Acting)

Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

Ben Carson

Secretary of Labor

Patrick Pizzella (Acting)

Secretary of State

Michael Pompeo

Secretary of the Interior

David Bernhardt

Secretary of the Treasury

Steve Mnuchin

Secretary of Transportation

Elaine Chao

Secretary of Veterans Affairs

Robert Wilkie


Director of National Intelligence

Joseph Maguire (Acting)

Director: Central Intelligence Agency

Gina Haspel

Administrator: Environmental Protection Agency

Andrew Wheeler

Adminsitrator: Small Business Administration

Linda McMahon

Ambassador to the United Nations

Jonathan Cohen (Acting)

Chair: Council of Economic Advisors


Director: Office of Management and Budget

Mick Mulvaney

Trade Representative

Robert Lighthizer

White House Chief of Staff

Mick Mulvaney (Acting)

No. President Term Vice President Note
45 Donald Trump 2017- Mike Pence
44 Barack Obama 2009-2017 Joe Biden
43 George W. Bush 2001-2008 Dick Cheney
42 William J. Clinton 1993-2000 Al Gore
41 George H.W. Bush 1989-1992 Dan Quayle
40 Ronald Reagan 1981-1988 George H.W. Bush
39 Jimmy Carter 1977-1980 Walter Mondale
38 Gerald Ford 1974-1976 Nelson Rockefeller
37 Richard M. Nixon 1969-1974 Spiro Agnew
Gerald Ford
Resigned August 8, 1974
36 Lyndon Johnson 1963-1968 Hubert Humphrey
35 John F. Kennedy 1961-1963 Lyndon Johnson Assassinated Nov. 22, 1963
34 Dwight D. Eisenhower 1953-1960 Richard Nixon
33 Harry S. Truman 1945-1952 Alben Barkley
32 Franklin D. Roosevelt 1933-1945 John Garner
Henry Wallace
Harry Truman
Died in office April 12, 1945
31 Herbert Hoover 1929-1932 Charles Curtis
30 Calvin Coolidge 1923-1928 Charles Dawes
29 Warren G. Harding 1921-1923 Calvin Coolidge Died in office August 2, 1923
28 Woodrow Wilson 1913-1920 Thomas Marshall
27 William Howard Taft 1909-1913 James Sherman
26 Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1908 Charles Fairbanks
25 William McKinley 1897-1901 Garret Hobart
Theodor Roosevelt
Assassinated September 6, 1901
24 Grover Cleveland 1893-1896 Adlai Stevenson
23 Benjamin Harrison 1889-1892 Levi Morton
22 Grover Cleveland 1885-1888 Thomas Hendricks
21 Chester A. Arthur 1881-1884 (none)
20 James Garfield 1881-1881 Chester Arthur Assassinated July 2, 1881
19 Rutherford B. Hayes 1877-1880 William Wheeler
18 Ulysses S. Grant 1869-1876 Schuyler Colfax
Henry Wilson
17 Andrew Johnson 1865-1868 (none)
16 Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865 Hannibal Hamlin
Andrew Johnson
Assassinated April 14, 1865
15 James Buchanan 1857-1860 John Breckinridge
14 Franklin Pierce 1853-1856 William King
13 Millard Fillmore 1850-1852 (none)
12 Zachary Taylor 1849-1850 Millard Fillmore Died in office July 9, 1850
11 James K. Polk 1845-1848 George Dallas
10 John Tyler 1841-1844 (none)
9 William Henry Harrison 1841-1841 John Tyler Died in office April 4, 1841
8 Martin Van Buren 1837-1840 Richard Johnson
7 Andrew Jackson 1829-1836 John Calhoun
Martin Van Buren
6 John Quincy Adams 1825-1828 John Calhoun
5 James Monroe 1817-1824 Daniel Tompkins
4 James Madison 1809-1816 George Clinton
Elbridge Gerry
3 Thomas Jefferson 1801-1808 Aaron Burr
George Clinton
2 John Adams 1797-1800 Thomas Jefferson
1 George Washington 1789-1797 John Adams